August 6, 2009

What a way to close out my mission! Things have still continued to improve and the area is thriving. I believe last week I told you that Nick wasn’t prepared and things didn’t look hopeful but right after I wrote on Thursday things started to dramatically improve and he has put himself right back on track. He is doing great and his interview for baptism is tonight at 7. He has asked that I baptize him and Elder Chan will confirm him the following Sunday. He is really excited and commited to do this and has kept every commitment we have left him to help him prepare for Sunday. The Branch is really pumped as well. It’s going to be a fun day.
Erin had her interview this past Tuesday and is all set and ready to go for her baptism which will be at 6:00pm Sunday evening. She is having it later so people from the Newark Singles Branch can come on over after their meetings. We’re hoping for a great turn out at both of the baptisms. The support for both of them from the members of the church has been tremendous.
Today I did a trial run at packing so I could make sure I wouldn’t have to ship anything home. It really is not very fun packing all your stuff up and knowing that the next area that your being sent to is HOME. I’m not really looking forward to it, and neither is Elder Chan since every time I would pack something up he would be right behind me to pull it out and remind me that he is not letting me leave.
Alright well, I’ve got to run for now. We helped this morning get things ready for a wedding reception for someone in the branch and then tomorrow we are helping set things up at the church in the morning. We’ve still have a lot of errands to run.
I love you. Keep Erin and Nick in your prayers.
I love you!
-Elder Michael Oakford
Leave a Reply

