July 9, 2009

Elders Gillman, Chan, and Oakford

Elders Gillman, Chan, and Oakford

Hey there,

Everything here is going fantastic! To show you what a good attitude can do, we mixed things up here last week and because we did we had the most successful week in Rising Sun history.  We are doing better and better as we learn how to function in this threesome. Sometimes its a little tough and you  have to work around some of the normal difficulties that you would have but with three people. Not bad though I really like it.

4th of July was really fun. We had a Pancake breakfast at the church from 8-10AM. There was a good turn out and the weather was beautiful so it turned out to be a really nice event. There were lots of branch members that came and many brought with them friends who had not been to the church before. I think an activity is always a nice way to introduce people to the church and the members without being too pushy. In the evening we went to the Ellsworths home/farm  and went to the party there. Nick and his son Aiden came along and they had a blast. Tons of people came to the party and after it got dark they had fireworks. The party lasted two days the 3rd to the 4th. Fireworks both days.
So here is the miracle for the week. This story starts back about three or four weeks ago. One day when I was with Elder Willes we were driving through Perryville late to an appointment.  I looked out the window and saw this woman sitting on the porch smoking a cigarette and right when I saw her the Spirit hit me “You Need To Talk To That Woman.”  I looked at her again as we were passing her and thought about how late we were to a really important appointment and then I did something that probably wasn’t the smartest thing to do but I prayed and told Heavenly Father next time I see that woman I am going to talk to her… Well. On Friday we were all set to go tracting in this neighborhood and we were saying a prayer before we got out of the car and as I closed the prayer I felt a very strong impression that we should not be here. I asked Elder Gillman how he felt and he told me the same thing. So we started heading towards another neighborhood that we had set as our back up plan. As we were driving down the street  I saw that same woman sitting on the porch smoking a cigarette and it hit me again “Go Talk To Her!”  So I told Elder Gillman to turn around. By the time we got back to that apartment building she was gone! But I was pretty determined since I promised God that next time I saw her I’d talk to her. So I grabbed Elder Chan and told him to come with me. We went up to the apartment building and rang all the door bells and knocked on the door but nobody was answering so I told Elder Chan to just open the door and go in.  As soon as he stuck his head in she stuck her head out and looked downstairs right at us and said “Can I help you?’ When I saw her I walked in and said “Yes, we have been sent here by God to talk to you today. Can we come in?” She seemed kinda shaken when I said that and replied “Well, I was just about to get in the shower do you think you could..” I knew I couldn’t let her get away so I told her “I saw you sitting on the porch and the Spirit of God told us we needed to talk to you right now. Can we come in?” Then she surprised me by saying “Well yes, come right in.”  I hollered out to Elder Gillman, he parked the car and we had a great lesson with Vanessa. She then called one of the members that lives right down the street from her and got a ride set up for church. Sunday came and she was there. She even got up and bore her testimony! She loved it and the coolest thing was in her testimony she said that for the past two weeks she had been praying to God to help her find which church she was supposed to join! I love miracles. Follow the Spirit and you can never go wrong.
I love you.
Elder Michael Oakford
Leave a Reply

