May 7, 2009

I don’t remember what I wrote to you last week  so I’m not sure if anything I say will be repetitive.

In our interviews with President and Sister Murray we were told that the Church Medical Department called Sister Murray and told her that the missionaries are not supposed to shake hands anymore, due to the flu that is going around. When I remember I’m doing me best but I usually forget and find myself shaking hands with lots of people anyways. Elder Chatterton and I have been carrying hand sanitizer and using that every once in awhile. Lots of people that we have talked to have been making such a big deal about it. I can’t tell you how many people we’ve talked to who sware that they have swine flu! It’s ridiculous.  But anyway, I hope the hype will fade out sooner than later.

We have been fortunte to find some amazing families that past week, a couple that have been to our services before. Two families in particular that I really have connected with. Another man that we found on Sunday or Monday we have already committed him to be baptized when he finds out this is true. I have found on my mission that doing this works so much in your benefit. From the start the people who you are teaching know that your purpose is to invite them to come unto Christ by helping them receive the restored gospel, through faith in Jesus Christ and His Atonement, repentance, baptism, receiving the Gift of the Holy Ghost and Enduring to the End. There are no surprises there and I’ve seen our visits go from being viewed as enlightening “bible studies” to purposeful meetings where commitments are extended and followed up on so we are working towards the goal of finding out that this is true and then when you do accept the invitation to be baptized. Our time spent with someone that is not going to progress and keep commitments is cut down significantly.

Eric Wheelin is going to be confirmed in church on Mother’s Day. He and his family are doing fantastic. Our past bishop, President Schwab was asked to confirm him. This is week Six so it could be my last week in Morrisville, although I would do anything to stick around longer even until the end of my mission!

Not much else happening other than that. Lots of Spring cleaning going on. Lots of people emerging from their homes since it’s warming up and it not winter anymore.

I’ll talk to you on Sunday.

Love you.
Elder Michael Oakford

Leave a Reply

