March 12, 2009

Today is my 547th day on my mission! Isn’t that crazy! Elder Moorhead keeps reminding me that I’ve now been out 18 months, which is really not very exciting. All of the missionaries who were in the field when I got here are now going home. Three of my companions (Elder Olsen, Elder Wolsey and Elder Atkinson) are leaving at the end of this transfer as well as Sister McFarland, who I was in the MTC with! It’s crazy! This week really has been exciting! Elder Moorhead and I have been working so hard on getting people to church and having those people all ready for baptismal dates. This last Sunday was slightly disappointing, but we still had three great investigators show up to church. And now the past couple days have been miracle filled! I wish I could communicate all the excitement that we feel in words so you could feel the energy of missionary work that we are now. It really is contagious though. Members in the ward are being so proactive. I can’t believe it! We have three or four different families that have invited their friends over to be taught in their homes. We also have been going to Seminary at 6:00am on Fridays to help get the youth excited about missionary work and that really has worked. A couple of them have been inviting their friends to seminary and mutual and church, they’re great. We have received a few referrals of friends of the youth, which is good but one of the sisters invited one of her friends and her whole family to come to her house for a family night with the missionaries! I don’ t know how it happened but this ward is on fire! It really helps to have such amazing leadership in the ward. Brother Hludzinski our fiery ward mission leader is so proactive and is the catalyst of everything that is happening now in the ward. Bishop Schwab amazes us the more we work with him. We now talk to him on a regular basis and he is very involved with everything that is happening with missionary work. We can all feel the spirit of missionary work and it is visable how it is binding the ward together. This past week was ward conference. The departing stake presidency did a fantastic job! Everyone could really feel the love that they have for those that they serve. President Olson has been called to the Ogden, Utah Mission as the Mission President. SOoo on the 22nd of this month we are having a special stake conference where a new stake presidency will be called. Elder Jose A. Teixera of the First Quorum of the Seventy and Elder Eyring (President Eyrings son) are coming to do the interviews. I wish I had more time to tell you about ward conference, I think I took more notes in the meetings there then I have at any other meeting except General Conferences. Elder Moorhead has been just a blast to work with. He reminds me so much of Michael Hammon and the kind of friend that he is. We are getting along very well and because of that unity we are seeing so much success. He really is the kind of person you want as a life long friend. Alright. I hope all is well at home. I love you all! Love, Elder Michael Oakford

Leave a Reply

